A perspective.

I was having a conversation with a client about why I am involved in so many projects. She was wondering how it can be done, and what was the purpose in pushing myself in so many directions, which was a reasonable thing to question. I pondered that, and told her my answer at another session.

Before I go on, I should mention she is a straight – A student at SHS, but struggles with a serious illness, CMT. I myself had a pretty serious illness, which I had spent 6 yrs of my own life getting treated, that being Adult Onset Stills’ Disease. If anyone has had had an auto – immune disorder, you know how scary an attach can be. However, with a lot of unpleasant medication, mine was managed and phased out.

She, however, isn’t out of the woods, and is getting as strong as she can so that her recovery from yet another foot surgery can go a little quicker this time. She does those Kettlebell deadlifts with no complaints. I have to ask her what her limits are, because she wants to push past them. Needless to say, I am proud of her, but I just don’t want to seem patronizing.

Ok, ok. This was my answer. “When you feel like you have been close to punching your ticket, when you have been so sick that you actually wonder if your body will just shut down rather than feel worse, all you want is another shot. So, if it could happen, and you know it can and will, then it’s about what you will leave behind. These were the things I loved when all is said and done.”

She just smiled and nodded in approval. She got it. So, yeah, I guess it is something I constantly think about. I will leave you at that.

For information on CMT, read here.

http://help4cmt.com/articles/?id=133&pn=personal-stories-triathlete-trainer-with-charcot-marie-tooth

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment